Believing for a Miracle

My husband and I were married 8 years before we decided to start trying for a baby. I think we had many of our family members and friends convinced we were never going to have children. Yet, we honestly delayed what we felt was inevitable because we were enjoying each other’s company as a married couple. Before we were married, we spent a majority of 6 years dating alongside each other studying for hours. With my pursuit in science and his in engineering, it was rare for either one of us to have any spare time. Not to mention, the numerous jobs we’d work to avoid student loans and our devoted hours to church involvement. It felt like we entered a whole new world once we were married with our degrees, careers, and a new home. There was a freedom to experience life and explore the world together. So we did.

It wasn’t until we tried to conceive, I began to see the invitation of an emotional roller coaster that came knocking on my door every month. Like a friend, the heartache of not conceiving frequently visited. Then there was the greatly anticipated joy of a positive pregnancy test, however all felt lost when the heartbeat was no longer heard. Over the past 5 years I’ve experienced the struggle of “trying” to get pregnant, the emotional and physical pain of a miscarriage, and the fight of faith as a parent warring for the health of their child. Yet, I also know the joy of caressing my very own birthed child. Nothing compares to it. To hold in my arms my answered prayer, my gift from above, my arrow, my miracle cannot be explained in words. The magnificence of it all reminds me of the greatness of our God and how when I say I’m a mother of two (soon to be three), I’m extraordinarily blessed. To top it all, the fact that I have exactly what I desired: a boy first, then a girl can only be described by a supernatural miracle.

If one would ask me: “How did you get what you hoped for?” a few months ago, I probably wouldn’t have a direct answer. I would’ve responded, “It was all by God’s grace and by prayer”. Yet a distant friend of mine unexpectedly sent me a book called, “Supernatural Childbirth.” Remarkably, the passages in the book began to solidify the scriptures and principles of God’s word I had put into practice and had experienced the promises manifested. However, I didn’t have the nerve to voice it to anyone other than my husband. Where I had once felt alone in believing for a pain-free labor or a morning sickness free pregnancy, I became confident in knowing it’s my covenant right as a believer.

Now I know what I am about to share may not be understood or accepted by everyone; however I believe this blog post is for someone who is willing to step out in faith and believe God for what people have called impossible. “…for with God all things are possible.” Matt 19:26

prayer

God has placed certain principles (fundamental truths) that when we act upon them, they produce the results God intended. For example, we all cannot refute the fact that gravity works. We know that whatever goes up, comes down. Consequently there are certain forces, truths, and principles in the word of God, when we combine it with love, faith and action, it produces the same kind of irrefutable results (Gal 5:6, James 2:14-16, Luke 7:50).

Just as we can believe we are saved by Rom 10:9, forgiven by 1 John 1:9, healed by 1 Peter 2:24, and given the desires of our heart by Psalm 37:4; we can believe to have a pain-free labor according to Gal 3:13 and Is 43:4-5. The promises of God are vast and are a guarantee to those who believe.

33

It’s God’s desire for all those that want to have a child, to bare children. In the scriptures below, it clearly states it is His will and it’s promised to every believer. If you’ve prayed for a baby then stand on these promises. God is faithful!

  • Recognize children are from God.
    • Behold, children are a heritage and gift from the Lord,The fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior, So are the children of one’s youth. How blessed [happy and fortunate] is the man whose quiver is filled with them; They will not be ashamed. When they speak with their enemies [in gatherings] at the [city] gate.” Psalm 127:3-5 amp
  • God promises to give you children.
    • “He will love you and bless you, and he will give you many childrenYou will be blessed above all the nations of the earth. None of your men or women will be childless… Deut 7:13-14
    • Your wife will bear children as a vine bears grapes, your household lush as a vineyard, The children around your table as fresh and promising as young olive shoots. Stand in awe of God’s Yes. Oh, how he blesses the one who fears God!” Psalm 128:3 msg 
  • Miscarriage and barrenness is not from God.
    • None shall lose her young by miscarriage or be barren in your land; I will fulfill the number of your days.” Ex 23:26 ampc

Along with praying and hoping for your miracle from God, let me share with you 5 additional ways you can exercise your faith. These five action items can be applied to any area of your life and to any prayer you’re believing God will answer.

  1. Meditate on the Promises of God. There’s a supernatural transition that takes place every time we hear the word of God. Doubt deteriorates, our mind is renewed, our heart becomes hopeful and our spirit grows in faith (Rom 10:17).  One can literally go from unbelief and uncertainty to full of faith and expectation. The more you hear the promises of God, the more you will trust in Him and the more you will receive a believer’s reward.
  2. 2. Confess God’s Promises. Once you began to believe God’s promise, speak it! It brings life to your dream, desire and hope (2 Cor 4:13). Avoid dwelling on the doubt and never speak it out! If we make speaking God’s word a habit, we’ll see things change (Mark 11:22-24). Want to learn more about confessions? Read this article on Why a Positive Confession Matters.
  3. Stay away from naysayers. Unfortunately, even those close to us can have a habit of speaking doom and gloom in our lives. Whether or not it’s intentional, removing yourself from the negativity can be unbelievably refreshing and help you to believe again (2 Tim 3:5). It wasn’t until Jackie Mize, author of “Supernatural Childbirth”, moved away from all of those that spoke against her dream of having a baby did she get pregnant. Sometimes we allow those we love to have more power over our thoughts than we realize.
  4. Bless those who have what you desire. The principles of God can often seem unusual or opposite of what is accepted by the majority. Like humbling ourselves and blessing someone else in the midst of our need may seem awkward or counter intuitive. However, Eph 6:8 tells us if we bless others, God will bless us. Perhaps you can help a new mommy with prepping some meals, or babysit for a friend to go on a date night or do a random act of kindness for an overwhelmed Dad. These kinds of actions grab the attention of God.
  5. Live like you’ve received your miracle. When you truly believe your miracle is on its way, you prepare for it and live like you already have it. Whether its making room for it at home, thanking God for it in advance or talking about it likes it’s already in your possession, this is how you demonstrate your faith to believe for your miracle (Rom 4:17). It may not be what we are accustomed to do. We are used to “telling it like it is” but when we walk in faith, we believe truth (God’s promise) over fact (the situation).

As mentioned previously, I know this message of hope may be hard for some of my readers to accept. Perhaps you were told it was God’s will for you not to have a baby or that you should give up the dream, or leave it in His hands, for He is sovereign. I can understand if reading this post may sting your heart a little, knowing how hard you’ve tried and believed for your miracle but it never came. Proverbs 13:12 says, “Hope deferred makes the heart sick, But when the desire comes, it is a tree of life.” Although some of you may be dealing with a broken heart, I’ve felt the spirit of God to stir up your hope, faith and trust in Him; because it is His will. He promised it! Don’t let the enemy rob you of your hope and your manifested promise from God! I hear the spirit of God saying, “Believe again!”

I’ve known mothers that were told by doctors they’d never give birth to a baby and yet they did. Even after years of trying to conceive and adopting children, a close friend of mine gave birth to two beautiful girls. God can restore, resurrect, and create a way out of the impossible to those that believe in His word. I can’t explain why it takes longer for others, but I know God’s word will not return void (Is 55:11).

sunset-1207326_640This has nothing to do what you’ve done in your past or even if someone is better than you. Satan would love to put those kind of conditions or limitations on your faith. The truth is we all fall short of God’s goodness. Not one person is more deserving of a promise or reward than the next person. When the blood of Jesus cleanses us, we are made the righteousness of God and qualified for every one of His promises.

I hope you feel encouraged today to believe for your miracle. If you’re praying for a baby, trust God and pray this prayer out loud:

img_0859

“Father God, you know it is my desire to have a baby, a pleasant pregnancy and a pain-free labor. I know it’s your desire for me as well based on your promises in Psalm 113:9, Deut. 7:13-14, and Psalm 128:3. You said I was designed and fashioned to have children. You said those that love and serve you will not be barren nor will they miscarry. Because you are my God and I am your child, I believe you redeemed me from every curse, and you bless my womb right now to have children. I resist fear! I let go of any bitterness and past hurt. I will not let my heart be troubled, but I declare I have the mind of Christ. I am at peace. I speak to my body to align itself to the word of God. I command it to function perfectly as God intended, including my reproductive system. I declare my womb to be a safe, well nourished environment for my baby to grow to full term. I will have no complications. Both the baby and I will be strong and healthy. Thank you Father God that you’ve heard my prayer and have answered it. I thank you its done now according to your Word in Jesus’ Name. Amen.”

Leave a Reply

